Oklahoma’s QB Baker Mayfield Wins 2017 Heisman

bakey mayfield oklahoma sooners heisman trophy 2017Baker Mayfield yesterday became the sixth Oklahoma Sooner to ever win the Heisman Trophy as he collected 78.8 percent of the first-place votes and accumulated 2,398 total points.

Stanford running back Bryce Love finished second in voting with 1,300 points, and Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson finished third with 793.

Among first-place votes, Mayfield earned 732, Love received 75 and Jackson garnered 47. Mayfield’s 732 first-place votes is the fifth best in Heisman’s history. He also garnered 86 percent of the total possible points, the 3rd highest all-time.

Mayfield became the first senior to win the award since Ohio State’s quarterback Troy Smith in 2006. He becomes the first Sooner QB to win the Heisman since Sam Bradford in 2008.

He also is the seventh player to finish in the top five Heisman voting three times.

Mayfield’s win means that Oklahoma is now even with USC for the second most Heisman trophies in college history (6). Ohio State and Notre Dame are tied in first place with seven each.

The 22-year-old Mayfield completed 71 percent of his passes as he passed for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns. He only was picked five times all season long and led the Sooners to the College Football Payoff (CFP) as the No. 2 seed, where they will face No. 3 seeded Georgia.

In the other semifinal defending champion and No. 1 seed Clemson, will face the Alabama Crimson Tide in the CFP for the third year in a row. While in the past two years they have played for the national championship, this rubber match will be in the College Football Playoff semifinal.

Alabama and Clemson each won a title in the last two years and the winner of this one will get the bragging rights along a ticket to the national title game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, in Atlanta, on January 8.

If the Bulldogs somehow take care of Mayfield and the Sooners, they could play for the national title in front of their own fans as Sanford Stadium is just 72 miles away.

Georgia last won a national championship in 1980 and Oklahoma in 2000.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Live Support